A Girl Should Always Look Presentable

This is what I told myself when I was younger. I do not remember when I started to love dressing up because I used to be the wear-whatever-you-find-on-top-of-the-closet kind of girl but I like how I dress up now.

For me, what I wear reflects the kind of personality I have or the mood I am in. And I believe that dressing up right generates respect from other people. In this entry, I will share my style habits. Hope you read through!

#CasualFriday

This is the dress down day. If I am wearing a pair of shorts/jeans/jogging pants and a shirt, that means either it’s laundry day or I am going out for a bit whatever the reason is.

2013-03-15_1363357356 2013-04-08_1365413819

First photo is because of laundry day and second one is because I needed to walk my dog around the neighborhood. (Note: the first photo was taken during rehearsals for a play I was a part of)


#DressUpMonday

On other days that I go out for a longer period of time, my usual go-to attire is a dress or skirt and a cute top. If my clothes look plain, I accessorize to make the whole look stand out.

2013-08-12_1376277695
Dress from Folded and Hung, belt from Maldita
2014-08-15_1408079046
Striped top from Forever 21, skater skirt from a bazaar

Two of the reasons why I love wearing skirts and dresses are because one, they are easy to wear and two, they make me feel very graceful.


#OOTD

If I am not wearing my dresses or skirts, I go for a pair of shorts or jeans/pants. I am; however, not a fan of flare jeans because if I wear one, I have to wear heels to go with it, which I avoid when I go out without a car. And 80% of the time I am out of the house, I am without a car.

2013-09-19_1379582836
Black top from Forever 21, jeans and white vest from a bazaar, belt from a friend, shoes from Riverstone
2014-09-08_1410143787
Pink chiffon top from Atmosphere, black pants from a bazaar, fuchsia pumps from Parisian
2014-01-19_1390125268
Blazer from Redhead, white shirt from Cebu, bag from Davao, shorts from a friend

#POTD

Finally, I love dressing up when there are special occasions such as Christmas, New Year’s, weddings, etc. Let’s just say a special occasion  is worth a special attire!

camae_fb
Christmas! Floral dress from H&M, fuchsia pumps from Parisian
camae_fb4
Wedding! Teal dress from Karimadon
2014-08-09_1407567335
Wedding! Royal blue dress was tailored and shoes from Gibi

In the end, it’s not about who has the better style because each one of us has a unique sense of style. I think dressing up boils down to these points:

  • Confidence in what you wear – If you can wear it, strut it! The world is your runway.
  • Mix and match – Well who knew the shirt you have from five years ago would match the pants you just bought!
  • The little things matter – Literally. Sometimes your outfit won’t be complete without earrings or a scarf. Always look for something to add if you think your attire is too plain but remember to not overdo it!
  • Right outfit at the right place – Even when you have a great get up, when you wear it at the wrong place, it still won’t work.
  • It’s not always about the big brands – There are bound to be lots of treasures you can find in bazaars or thrift shops! That’s why I love them!

And this ends my first blog entry. Thanks for reading!

Camae2

5 thoughts on “A Girl Should Always Look Presentable

Leave a Reply

