Upper Body Strength (Part 2)

Hi! I’ve mentioned in the first part of this post that I’ve been focusing more on my upper body because I currently cannot do leg exercises following my right knee injury. In the first part of the post, I have shared my program for “back-biceps-shoulders-core” day. And in this post, I will share my program for “chest-triceps-core” day.

If leg day is my most favorite, chest day is my most dreaded.

I wasn’t an avid fan of chest exercises and the muscle pain that comes the day after. But I guess when I saw and felt progress, I started to dislike it less. One chest exercise that I do not want to do on my own is the Bench Press. I always ask someone to spot me for fear of suddenly being unable to lift the barbel. I think this fear came about when I heard this story about a friend of a friend who broke his nose because the barbel fell straight to his face while doing a set of bench press.

Currently, both my flat and incline bench press exercises are at 40lbs. Normally, the weight I carry for flat bench press is different from that of incline bench press so I think I’ll add a couple of tiny plates next week for flat bench press. Lol.

Flat Bench Press – 5 sets of 8 reps (40lbs)

Incline Bench Press – 5 sets of 8 reps (40lbs)

Other chest exercises that I do include (listing some for future reference):

Dumbbell overhead pullover – 3 sets of 8 (20lbs)

Dumbbell Flyes – 3 sets of 10 (15lbs each)

Cable Crossover – 3 sets of 8 (20lbs each)

Women’s Push Up – 3 sets of 8

Chest Press – 3 sets of 8 (44lbs)


After working my chest, I then proceed to my triceps. By this time, my arms are already shaky but I try to manage. Lol. Some of my triceps exercise include:

Dips – 3 sets of 12 reps

Tricep-extension – 3 sets of 8 reps

Overhead tricep extension – 3 sets of 10 reps

Tricep Dumbbell Kickback – 3 sets of 10 reps per arm


After the triceps exercises, I then proceed to core exercises. I do 2 sets of 6 up to 9 different variations of core and lower back exercises that are all timed to 30-45 seconds per exercise (without stopping until after the first full set).


Still not a fan of the muscle pain the day after but at least I know that the exercises the previous day worked. As they say,

Sore today, strong tomorrow


Again, here is a short video of my chest-triceps-core program for the day. Admittedly, some forms are slightly off but I’m working on them.

Thank you, Joey, for being my spotter!


Thank you for reading!

Camae2

One thought on “Upper Body Strength (Part 2)

  1. great read. I find it interesting that you are an avid fan of leg day and do not like chest day, as it is usually the other way around. I also think you have a good rep scheme going.

    I am with a company called wellpath solutions, and I am wondering if you would like to join our affiliate program as an affiliate.

    Let me know if you might like to consider this, and then we can take next steps if you see fit

    Like

Leave a Reply

