Running in “Soleus Run for the Aspins” Part 1

Heto ako, basang-basa sa ulan – the line of a song that perfectly describes what happened last October 18.

As mentioned in my previous post, I was scheduled to join Soleus Run for the Aspins, a fun run that aims to do the following: First is to raise funds to support the Philippine Animal Rescue Team in providing a good life for the rescued dogs under their care. Second is to raise awareness regarding dog cruelty and abuse, promote responsible pet ownership and spread compassion for animals.

Photo from Soleus Philippines

And because I love dogs, I signed up!

Originally, I planned to join the 10k solo race and have my mom and our dog join the 600m dog race. However, my mom was not able to register on time so I was the only one who went to the race venue. Unfortunately, there was a storm that landed in the Philippine Area of Responsibility just the night before, so on the race day itself, it was raining relatively hard.

There was no announcement of race cancellation so I still went to the venue. When I got there, the race was already about to begin. But because of the typhoon, there was a short delay in the gun start of the 15k category. Instead of having it around 5:15am, it started at around 5:30am already (supposedly the 10k category gun start). The 10k gun start was moved to 6:00am; however, just before the gun start, the rain intensified which then forced the organizers to cancel the race – the one who announced even cried while she was talking. After announcing the sad news, everyone was just silent and the whole venue was filled with gloom.

stolen
Not sure when this was taken nor what I was thinking when this was snapped. I like the photo though!

The 15k participants were asked to go back to the venue and one by one, we watched and applauded as they crossed the finish line (not counted though). When everyone was back in the venue, the organizer announced how they really wanted the race to push through so they decided to reschedule it without cost to the participants. Hooray!

Hooray for the reschedule!
Hooray for the reschedule! (Me and my friend, Yssa)

Shortly after announcing the good news, some of the participants began running just for the sake of it. After all, we were all in running attire so might as well run, right? I really enjoyed running in the rain and watching some of the dogs run with their owners. I never knew that running in the rain could feel so invigorating (I just hope I won’t get sick from it lol)!

Thumbs up for the organizers who decided to reschedule the race. Thumbs down for the typhoon that caused the race to be canceled in the first place. :(
Thumbs up for the organizers who decided to reschedule the race. Thumbs down for the typhoon that caused the race to be canceled in the first place. 😦
Haggard running in the rain lol

Look how adorable we are, I mean the dogs. Lol.
Look how adorable we are, I mean the dogs. Lol.

Now I am just waiting for the announcement regarding the new schedule of the race. Hopefully it won’t come in conflict with my other weekend activities.

Thank you Running Photographers for the photos!

Will give an update again once I get to run in the race and earn that finisher medal. Thank you for reading!

Camae2

Leave a Reply

