February Silver Year

If I have not mentioned this before, I will mention it now – February is my most favorite month of the year. Aside from it being my birth month, it is also considered the “month of love” not just in terms of a romantic love but also all forms of love.

Every year, I try to make February as memorable as I can especially during my birthday. This year, I chose to take the whole day off from work (because my birthday fell on a weekday) to spend it on the things and with the people that/who matter.

I also plan my birthday outfit every year. For this special occasion, I decided to follow a red and white color scheme yet again.

bday6
Birthday colors

First Agenda: License Renewal

Okay, I know this is not something to be excited about but it is something important for me as an “adult” citizen. And because I did not want a penalty fee for late renewal. Lol. It was my first time to renew my license and it took me almost two hours to complete it. Although I got shouted at by some of the people who worked there (gaahd umagang-umaga, init ng ulo nila), I tried my best to remain composed because I did not want anything to ruin my day.

And finally, after finishing my license renewal (wala pa ring card, fyi), I headed to Glorietta for my second agenda.

Second Agenda: New Hairstyle

It is not uncommon for me to cut my hair. I specifically planned to cut it short on my birthday because why not? I went to a salon in Glorietta while waiting for a friend to pick me up. Luckily, I was already finished with my agenda when she arrived. Together, we went to my third agenda for the day.

bday
The happy little girl with shorter hair

Third Agenda: Looking Back and Giving Thanks

I really wanted to go to a specific church to give thanks for all the blessings for the past year. I picked the Church of the Gesu that is located in Ateneo de Manila University where I graduated college from. It was like hitting two birds with one stone as well because I have been planning to visit Ateneo for a while now and what better day than my birthday, right? Yaay!

I invited a few of my friends from college to join me there as well and while some were really free because of work schedule, one even had to file a sick leave from work (I’m so touched. Huhu)

We arrived in Ateneo a little after 12:00PM and the first thing that my friends and I did was to go to the Church of Gesu so I can pray and give thanks. It was extremely hot that day and we were sweating bullets but this did not stop us from going around the campus.

bday3
The little girl at the Church of the Gesu. Home is where the heart is and this felt like home.

We went to different parts of the university and it felt so nostalgic to be walking the roads of Ateneo again with some of the people I went to college with. As we observed the things that changed since we graduated, we also noticed the things that remained the same.

bday2
My Ateneo crew. Thank you guys for joining me. (PS: I got so dark after my trip in Zambales that I had to adjust the brightness of the second photo. Haha!)
bday4
When you see it. Color Scheme on point.

We all left the campus and parted ways late in the afternoon and I headed to my fourth agenda for the day.

Fourth Agenda: Dinner

The last agenda for the day was to have dinner with three of my close hikemates. It was good to see them and talk about our different trips the weekend before (I was in Cawag while one was in Ilocos Norte and one was in Gensan).

bday5
Hi EAT Girls! So good to see you ladies. Thank you for going out of your way to celebrate with me.

I felt my exhaustion kick in as soon as I got back home. I was tired but I was extremely happy and grateful at the same time.

Thank you to everyone who remembered and took their time to greet and wish me well. Now that I am a year older, I hope to be wiser and braver in dealing with life and all it has to offer. Looking forward to better things ahead!

Everyone ages but what’s important is that we age beautifully inside and out. 🙂

Thank you for reading!

camaes_escapades_signature-03

3 thoughts on “February Silver Year

Leave a Reply

